Brimfield part 1: Stuff that did NOT come home with me

The weather was perfect on Friday, when I went out to the Brimfield Antiques Market (Brimfield, Ma). One of my former employer’s told me that “If you go to Brimfield and can’t find what you’re looking for, it doesn’t exist” and that is very true! So while I did pick up a few things and pieces that I saw that I wished were less than my paycheck, there were some gems I neither understood or REALLY weren’t a fit in my life:

So this clock face was taller than my less than 5 foot stature, but all I could think of was it being mounted in a town clock and Marty McFly’s DeLorean was going to drive through it. Can’t say I have a wall that’s tall enough for that!

As much as I appreciate the craftsmanship of this large metal rooster, I think this is lawn art to the ultimate extreme! Not sure what else I can recall of this rooster, other than it not fitting in my car.

I saw this contraption after parking and exploring the first field. I’m thinking it’s some type of solar light catcher sort of thing. the white cord didn’t plug into anything, but is it an early example of green technology or just sculpture? Can’t say for sure…
Ok, here’s my find of the day, for me a shocker: Glass topped table with a SWAN base? My guess is that this is from the eighties, anyone else want to take a stab at the period? I believe that this was going for between 1200-1500, so I can’t say whether or not it went to a good home, but made my day! I will post about my Brimfield finds next and a few new pieces I’m working on for upcoming shows!

One Response

  1. I would have TOTALLY bought the rooster.
    The light catcher is actually an early steam punk death ray.
    The swan table base is actually from the future….very rare!

Leave a Reply

